question.jpgIn HR/Employment Law

What is the minimum wage?

The Fair Labor Standards Act sets a minimum wage, currently $5.15 per hour. However, many states have their own minimum wage laws, and in those states, employers must pay the states’ higher minimum wage requirement. Currently, the states who have higher minimum wage laws (and the minimum wage) are as follows: Alaska ($7.15); California ($6.75); Connecticut ($6.75); Delaware ($6.15); D.C. ($7.00); Florida ($6.15); Hawaii ($6.25); Illinois ($6.50); Maine ($6.35); Massachusetts ($6.75); Minnesota ($6.15); New York ($6.75); Oregon ($7.25); Rhode Island ($6.75); Vermont ($7.00); Washington ($7.35); and Wisconsin ($5.70).